Resources

This is the resources page for the audiobook version of Let’s Get Digital. Below you will find links to a whole host of topics and resources, broken down by subject.

This page contains all of the resources mentioned earlier in the book, as well as additional websites (and some books) you may find useful. Where necessary, I have added a brief explanation.

To get a handle on the current state of the publishing industry, I recommend reading from as many sources of as possible, including those you don’t agree with. This is a time of great change in publishing. You should challenge your assumptions regularly to ensure your decisions are not skewed by outdated beliefs or faulty logic.

Publishing Blogs
Joe Konrath: jakonrath.blogspot.com
The Passive Voice: thepassivevoice.com
Ed Robertson: edwardwrobertson.com
The Creative Penn: thecreativepenn.com
Nick Stephenson: noorosha.com
Lindsay Buroker: lindsayburoker.com
Matt Iden: matthew-iden.com/blog
Catherine Ryan Howard: catherineryanhoward.com

Publishing Podcasts
The Self-Publishing Podcast: selfpublishingpodcast.com
Joanna Penn: thecreativepenn.com/podcasts
Rocking Self-Publishing: rockingselfpublishing.com

Self-publishing Advice
KBoards Writers’ Café: kboards.com
Indie Author Survival Guide by Susan Kaye Quinn
The Naked Truth About Self-Publishing by Jana DeLeon, Tina Folsom, Coleen Gleason, Jane Graves, Liliana Hart, Debra Holland, Dorien Kelly, Theresa Ragan, Denise Grover Swank & Jasinda Wilder.

Writing Advice
On Writing by Stephen King
Write.Publish.Repeat by Sean Platt and Johnny B. Truant
Self-editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Brown & Dave King
Sommer Leigh: sommerleigh.com

Marketing Advice
Let’s Get Visible by David Gaughran
How To Market A Book by Joanna Penn

Trade Publishing
The Bookseller (UK): thebookseller.com
GalleyCat: mediabistro.com/galleycat
Publisher’s Weekly: publishersweekly.com

Literary Agent Blogs
Kristin Nelson: nelsonagency.com/pub-rants
Rachelle Gardner: rachellegardner.com
Miss Snark (Archives): misssnark.blogspot.com

Editor Blogs
Alan Rinzler: alanrinzler.com/blog
Tom Dupree: tomdup.wordpress.com
Karin Cox: karincox.wordpress.com

Writer Beware
This is an excellent free service provided by the SFWA, which, among other things, warns against scam agents, unscrupulous publishers, and inexperienced or unprofessional editors.
Website: sfwa.org/for-authors/writer-beware
Blog: accrispin.blogspot.com

Background Checks
Absolute Write is a forum more focused on traditional publishing (and can be unfriendly to self-publishers) but it has an excellent, comprehensive sub-forum called “Bewares, Recommendations & Background Check” with separate threads on most editors, publishers, literary agents, and those who provide writers’ services, which shares other writer’s experiences. If the company in question is not listed there, you can post about it, and members will answer you. Check the background of anyone you deal with.
Absolute Write: bit.ly/nH4ZhM

Book Design/Covers
My page: davidgaughran.wordpress.com/covers
Book Cover Archive: bookcoverarchive.com
The Book Designer: thebookdesigner.com

Read E-books on Your Phone or Computer
Free Kindle Apps (to read MOBI files): amzn.to/jJr1CU
Free Nook Apps (to read EPUB files): bit.ly/1qElcdp

E-book Formatting
Guido Henkel’s peerless guide: bit.ly/qjjBK
My guide: bit.ly/oNAe1n
Zen of eBook Formatting by Guido Henkel

Free Formatting Software
HTML Editor (PC): notepad-plus-plus.org
HTML Editor (Mac): barebones.com/products/textwrangler
E-book Converter (PC & Mac): calibre-ebook.com

Formatting Services
If you insist on paying for your formatting, these services are consistently recommended.
Heather Adkins (also does excellent print formatting): cyberwitchpress.com
Guido Henkel: guidohenkel.com/ebook-services/
Rob Siders: 52novels.com

Blurb-writing Advice
Anne R. Allen: bit.ly/1uHmN1t

Ad Sites
BookBub: bookbub.com
Ereader News Today: ereadernewstoday.com
Pixel of Ink (free): pixelofink.com
BookSends: booksends.com
Kindle Books & Tips: fkbooksandtips.com
The Midlist (free): themidlist.com

Blogging
The College of Blogging: bit.ly/oBVsg5

Designing Your Facebook Page
Technipedia: bit.ly/1z8n28C

Reviewer Lists
Indie Review Tracker: indiereviewtracker.com
Simon Royle’s List: bit.ly/o42vB2

Rank Tracking
KND Tracker (most accurate, but Amazon US only): tracker.kindlenationdaily.com
NovelRank (great for tracking ranks in US and internationally, but ignore the sales estimates): novelrank.com

Readers Forums/Websites
KBoards: kboards.com
Nook Boards: nookboards.com/forum
KU Forum (UK): kuforum.co.uk
Mobileread: mobileread.com
LibraryThing: librarything.com
Goodreads: goodreads.com
For an example of how to use a reader’s forum effectively, so that you aren’t chased out for spamming the users, please read this blog post: bit.ly/oud9Yu

Copyright
The Copyright Handbook by Stephen Fishman
US: copyright.gov
Canada: bit.ly/quG0OM
UK: ipo.gov.uk/types/copy
Ireland: cai.ie
Australia: copyright.org.au

ISBNs
US: myidentifiers.com/get-your-isbn-now
Canada: bit.ly/pC3y9g
UK & Ireland: bit.ly/qzqigx
Australia: myidentifiers.com.au

Tax
Getting an EIN: bit.ly/1p3EaVu

Release Your Word-Minions!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s