New Release: The Indie Author Power Pack: How To Write, Publish & Market Your Book

indie-power-pack-blogFor the last few months I have been secretly planning an assault on the New York Times bestseller list. Today, I can finally announce the release of the book I’m hoping will do the trick.

The Indie Author Power Pack: How To Write, Publish & Market Your Book contains three top-rated guides:

  • Write. Publish. Repeat by Sean Platt and Johnny B. Truant
  • Let’s Get Digital (2nd ed.) by me
  • How To Market A Book (2nd ed.) by Joanna Penn
  • + Bonus Content!

It’s only available for a limited time, and you can pre-order it now for just 99c at:

Amazon | Apple | B&N | Kobo | $0.99

The box will launch on Monday, November 3, but if you pre-order now the book will automatically download to your device next Monday.

I took great care in selecting the books for this box set. I wanted to present the very best books covering the three main tasks an author faces: writing, publishing, and marketing.

cover-write-publish-repeat-finalWrite. Publish. Repeat by Sean Platt and Johnny B. Truant is wonderful, containing all sorts of useful information for writers at any stage of their careers. You can read my five star review on Amazon here from when I first read it – and that’s just one of over four hundred five-star reviews.

This book covers so much great stuff, but the section on Story Beats really blew me away and revolutionized how I write. You can read my post on that here, along with an excerpt from the book.

That chapter on Story Beats (and the one on Product Funnels) would be worth the normal full price of this book alone – $5.99 – but you can get it now as part of this box for just 99c! I called Write. Publish. Repeat “the best book on self-publishing” when it was released. It’s the book that raised the bar and inspired me to update Let’s Get Digital so extensively.

Digital2Let’s Get Digital will be very familiar to most of you, and the box contains the most recent update, the brand new second edition which was just released at the start of September. If you want to read more about this update, go here.

How To Market A Book by Joanna Penn is another great read, this time focusing on marketing. I chose this title because I felt it was the very best guide out there covering the whole world of marketing as it pertains to selling books.

It’s equally useful for a beginner and those who are comfortable with marketing concepts and strategies, and is especially handy for authors who don’t know how to approach marketing, where to focus their time, or how to get things moving.

HowtoMarket2What I love about Joanna Penn’s marketing advice is that it’s all actionable – no pointless waffling on theoretical concepts with little practical use. She is someone who has walked the walk too: Joanna is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. You can get a sample of her no nonsense, hands-on approach to marketing in this guest post on my blog.

Again, Joanna’s book alone would be easily worth the price of this box – especially because this is the new updated second edition only released a couple of weeks ago.

You can now grab it, along with Write. Publish. Repeat and Let’s Get Digital for just 99c from the following retailers:

Amazon | Apple | B&N | Kobo | $0.99

BONUS CONTENT: As some of you may already own all three books, we have some exclusive content only available in this box. Myself, Joanna, Sean & Johnny recorded a Google Hangout discussion which covers the key things that writers need to focus on as they build their career up from having just one book to have a whole catalog, and how your marketing approach changes along the way.

There is a link in the box set to the audio, the video, and a transcript too, and we also reveal some personal stuff we’ve never shared anywhere, and I talk about my, uh, baboon heart…

Power Pack Banner

To recap, that’s three top-rated writer’s guides, with a normal retail price of $17, available for just 99c AND you will get exclusive content you can’t get anywhere else. Do your career (and your wallet) a favor, and grab it now at:

Amazon | Apple | B&N | Kobo | $0.99

Shooting for the NYT Bestseller List

As I said up top, I put together this box set with the explicit aim of hitting the New York Times bestseller list. That might be a long shot, I don’t know. I think we have a chance. There are some promo fireworks lined up for the launch, and three big platforms to put together, so anything could happen.

But we need your help.

Nanowrimo kicks off in a few days, and I think this box set is ideal for anyone participants. Indeed, there is stuff in here which will be of great assistance to all writers at any stage of their career – over 1,000 pages of advice on every imaginable topic related to writing, publishing, and marketing. This box set is something that writers will be able to return to again and again as their career develops.

However, The Indie Author Power Pack is only available for a limited time. And we’re launching it at 99c so the time to buy, and the time to spread the word, is now.

If you can help with our push that would be great. Here are some things you can do:

1. Buying. Purchasing is the easiest way to help. Any time from now is good! We want you to shop at your preferred retailer, but if you have multiple accounts, and are wondering where your purchase will help us most, that would probably be Barnes & Noble (for New York Times list-hitting reasons), followed by Amazon, but a purchase anywhere will assist in that goal, and will be hugely appreciated. If you want to help in other ways…

2. Reviewing. Even if you have only read Let’s Get Digital it would be great if you could copy that review across to the box set (here). You won’t be able to do so until it moves out of the pre-order phase (next Monday). And, in case you are unaware, it’s perfectly acceptable to review a box when you’ve only read one of the books – that’s standard procedure for box sets, just note same in your review (i.e. this review applies to Let’s Get Digital…). If you have read more than one of the books, even better. Just a line or two would make all the difference.

3. Sharing. If you are a writer (or an aspiring writer) I’m sure you know lots of other writers too. Please tell them about this box set! You’ll be doing them a favor, I promise. Feel free to forward this email to any writers you know (there’s a handy button below). You can also use any of the graphics or words in this email when sharing on Facebook, Twitter or your blog (contact me if you need anything specific).

If you like, here is a tweet you can share easily:

4. Cross Your Fingers! Hitting the New York Times bestseller list will be tough for three reasons. First, you need a lot of sales. Second, you need a minimum number of sales from more than one retailer (hence the Barnes & Noble suggestion above). Third, you need favorable winds. But with your help, we have a real chance.

If you have any questions about the books in the box, the aims, the motivations, or the strategies, fire away!

About David Gaughran

David Gaughran is Irish, living in Prague, and the author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible, and this here blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to New Release: The Indie Author Power Pack: How To Write, Publish & Market Your Book

  1. christine swinson says:

    I think you’re going to make The List — and I hope you do! I pre-ordered yesterday and your Amazon.com rank (sorry, I don’t have a Nook) was 244. I just looked again and you’re at 167. Very, very good. BUT I’m sure you’re going to do even better. ; ) All the best to you, et al, in your endeavor.

    • I’m not that confident, but I think we have an outside chance (presuming the NYT hasn’t blocked box sets, which has been a rumour over the last few weeks).

      The box hit #132 yesterday after I hit my list (and after Joanna had pushed it to around #200 over the weekend). It slipped a little overnight, but it might make that back up today.

      I don’t really know what’s going to happen, it’s too hard to predict and there are so many variables. But it’s gonna be fun to see what happens either way!

  2. Reblogged this on Michael Patrick Hicks and commented:
    Great deal, and some great resources too!

  3. Just bought and retweeted🙂

  4. shimmertree says:

    Tried to pre-order on Amazon, got this:
    “We’re sorry!
    We had a problem processing your order. If you don’t receive your book, please call our customer service line at 1-866-321-8851.”

  5. jadwriter says:

    Pre-ordered it this morning. Love your ebooks and Joanna’s too. Have read great things about the other book. Can’t wait to read them and see what advice you all give.

  6. loulocke says:

    Just bought and shared and retweeted! Best of Luck on the NYT list–it’s always good to have a goal!

  7. brianastbury says:

    Even though I’ve already got these three invaluable books, I’ve pre-ordered just to get the additional material, and to help boost these deserving authors. I have learnt much from them, am very grateful, and consistently pass on their wisdom to students on my Everyone Can Write course.

  8. Lynda Wilcox says:

    Have one-clicked the pre-order button, David, (and shared it) but I’m in the UK – which may not help with the NYT list. Sorry!

    Good luck with it.

  9. Ali Isaac says:

    Well good luck with this project… if anyone can make it, you can!

  10. zanesachs says:

    Just bought mine, David … Zane (aka Suzanne Tyrpak). Looks like great information. Hope you make the list!

  11. bhalsop says:

    I’ve preordered it although I”m not doing NaNo this year, having done two camps earlier, won both, and am in the process of editing and publishing it. This deal could not be more timely!

  12. Bought and shared on Facebook, David. Good luck!

  13. slconceptual says:

    Just tried to order from B&N and got the following message….
    We’re sorry, but this product is only available within the U.S.
    I’m in the UK.

  14. Dylan Hearn says:

    Reblogged this on Suffolk Scribblings and commented:
    I’ve reviewed Let’s Get Digital recently & been promoting Write, Publish, Repeat for some time now, so to have both these books, plus How to Market a Book, all for 99c / 79p, is a real no brainer. If you have any interest in writing and publishing a book, this will be the best value purchase you’ll ever make.

  15. I bought from B&N, retweeted your tweets, tweeted another, and posted on Facebook. I hope you make your goal and I look forward to learning from all of you.

  16. I’ve already pre-ordered mine! I can’t wait to dig into them!

    • Hans Maerker says:

      Kate, I bought those three books already [individually] quite a while ago. All I can say is, that they are well worth to join the collection. Excellent information in all of them, and I hope that David reaches his goal together with the other authors.

      I would support this even by buying those three books as a special pack again at B&N, just to push it.🙂 Yet, my residence is unfortunately outside the U.S. and B&N doesn’t sell to Europe (I’m in Malta).

  17. KATHY JONES says:

    It was good to know about this and I have ordered.  However I had to re-navigate to amazon.co.uk, as that’s where I am.  Just thought you might want to include the UK link in an update of your blog?  (On the principle that fewer clicks are better for sales!).

    All the best

    Kathy Jones

    ________________________________

    • Hans Maerker says:

      Kathy, You most likely don’t need to re-navigate to amazon.co.uk. All accounts go through Amazon.com anyway. Just go there and, despite of being on Amazon.com’, just login in with your UK account data. I do this from here in Malta with my ‘.de’ account data from my still existing account in Germany all the time.🙂

    • Hi Kathy, thank you for pointing that out. It was an oversight, now corrected (longer explanation below, in case it helps anyone else).

      What happened was that I’d originally written the copy for the email blast and this post with SmartURL links so that customers would be automatically redirected to the relevant Kindle Store in the UK, Germany, Canada etc. However, at the last minute I remembered that using SmartURL links in email blasts and blog posts can cause those emails to go into Spam (even the email to blog subscribers). So I quickly swapped the links with simple links to Amazon, and meant to swap back in the SmartURL ones right after posting. I’ve done that now – and thank you for the reminder.

      Sorry it took me so long to respond, busy with release stuff and scrambling to get the audiobook version of Digital out for next week.

  18. Shared wherever I could David. Best of luck sir.

  19. I just pre-ordered it. It looks really helpful. I found your two books very helpful too and encouraging. Best of luck with it.🙂

  20. I pre-ordered it. Such a great deal!

  21. yvey67 says:

    Hi, I’m new to blogging, new to writing and new to the shark infested waters of publishing – I think this may just be what I’ve been looking for! Good luck

  22. yvey67 says:

    Reblogged this on Eva Jordan and commented:
    Power to the people!!

  23. as you may recall, I really am “The dunce of Marketing” and wish I could cease to deserve your title. I bought your book which I hope will help me, although other things and real life keep interrupting me. This post has reminded me to get back to work

  24. Deborah Jay says:

    Reblogged this on The Write Stuff and commented:
    One of the best investments an indie author can make!

  25. Emma says:

    Pre-ordered. Thanks for this.

  26. An amazing offer — and just in time for the wildness of NaNoWriMo! (I’m doing it for the first time and am very excited.) Thanks for putting this offer out there. I’ve read “Let’s Get Digital,” and you gave a wonderful introduction to the world of self-publishing. I’m eagerly looking forward to reading the other two books in this bundle. Also, I purchased “Let’s Get Visible” to get even more of the advice goodness. I’m going to re-blog this post and tweet a link to it to help spread the word.

  27. Reblogged this on August MacGregor and commented:
    I read David Gaughran’s “Let’s Get Digital” a couple of years back, and it provided a background into the world of self-publishing for me. A great intro about the brave, new world of publishing on your own. Well, David’s book is out with two other books as “The Indie Author Power Pack: How To Write, Publish & Market Your Book” — and the pack is only 99 cents! Three e-books for less than a dollar! And just in time for NaNoWriMo, so this will be good reading material for breaks in November, or maybe it can wait until December, when the dust settles. Either way, this is a damn good deal.

  28. Juli Monroe says:

    Although I’ve sword off buying from B&N, for you, David, I made an exception.🙂

  29. gvkbj says:

    Bought it and downloaded today. And tweeted about it!

  30. Reblogged this on Yair Shalev and commented:
    .

  31. Pingback: Writer Wednesday | creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

  32. Pingback: Aiming for the NYT Best Seller List | David Gaughran

  33. Pingback: Second Serving Sunday: Words, Words, Words Edition! | shanjeniah

  34. Pingback: Second-Serving Sunday: NaNoWinMo Edition! | shanjeniah

  35. Pingback: How To Write A Book This Weekend Bonus | Secret Internet Marketing Blog

  36. Pingback: What Makes an Author Bundle Successful? - Reedsy

Release Your Word-Minions!

