St. Patrick’s Day Blowout: Results

If you were on Twitter over the weekend, you probably heard something about the St. Patrick’s Day Blowout Sale that I ran here on the blog.

A few of you asked how it was all put together, and plenty are keen to hear the results, so I thought I’d run through it all for you today.

As you will see below, it was very successful. So successful in fact, that it might spawn a few imitators.

For those thinking along those lines, a caution: I would imagine there would be diminishing returns on any promo like this, and I might suggest adding your own twist to get anything like the same results. On top of that, it’s a hell of a lot of work.

The Idea

I had been toying with a limited-time 99c sale for some time. I had never sold full-length work at that price, but had success with a $2.99 sale in the past (I usually price at $3.99 or $4.99).

There has been a lot of talk about the 99c price-point before, and I’m not going to add to that now (my views on pricing are here), only to say that I think it’s generally accepted that 99c is not as effective as it was. Indeed, there is some evidence to suggest that many readers avoid 99c novels as they feel the price is an indication of the (lack of) quality. Fair or not, this attitude exists.

However, I think with a limited-time sale (when clearly marketed as such, and indicated in the blurb on Amazon), you get all of the benefits of 99c, and none of the negatives (bar the reduced royalty rate).

I figured St. Patrick’s Weekend would be slow, given all the festivities and such, and I normally sell quite a bit less on weekends anyway, so I had little to lose.

The next step was inviting other authors. Considering my stuff is quite niche, and I don’t write in the most popular genres, I figured the sale would be a lot more attractive – and would have a better chance of both spreading across Twitter and getting a mention from some of the reader sites – with a nice spread of titles across all genres.

I tested the water in a couple of small writers’ groups on Facebook, could immediately see that interest was strong, and quickly had to make a list of participating titles and genres so I could see which holes I needed to plug. I needed to ensure I had something for everyone, and a few extra titles in the most popular genres, but also had to be careful to cap it at a reasonable limit of books, so that any sales generated weren’t spread too thinly.

That, of course, involved turning down some people as the slate filled up – my least favorite part of this whole exercise.

Putting It All Together

Early on, I decided to host the sale here on this blog. The logic was that without a “home” as such, there would be no one page to link to, which would prevent any chance of news of the sale going viral. I’ve seen people attempt similar group sales in the past, with either mention of the sale scattered across multiple blogs, or no “homepage” for the sale at all. I think that’s a mistake.

Seeing as the group participating had both great blurbs and covers (all have been doing this for a while), I thought it was best to play off those strengths, and make the book covers nice and big on the page, and have a full blurb beside it, rather than just a one-line description.

I also thought a lot about the order the books would be presented in and trialed several iterations. While it was important to have some of the bigger names and genres near the top, it was also crucial to spread some out, to give readers incentive to scroll through the whole page, so that sales wouldn’t be so dependent on the running order.

Thus, for example, thrillers and Michael Wallace went at the top so that readers landing on the page would immediately get the impression that this was a quality selection of books. On the other hand, romance and a big name like Jennifer Blake, went somewhere in the middle, so that readers knew there would be good books and big names throughout.

To encourage readers to scroll all the way down, I had a competition at the very bottom of the page (flagged at the top), where one lucky reader could win all 30 books (it was actually 32 books in the end, but I needed some wiggle room in case of any problems and any books had to drop out. Plus “30” is a better number for marketing purposes, sounds more deliberate).

I kept the competition simple, and wrote out a tweet for readers to share with their followers, then asked them to come back and comment so I would have their email address. The idea, of course, was to spread news of the sale among their followers.

Coding the page took days. WordPress has a standard WYSIWYG interface, which you can switch over to writing in HTML if you prefer, but it also tries to be clever, inputting tags where you don’t need them, and messing everything up. The page had thirty-two large book covers, four thousand words of text, and over one hundred links. With all that, things soon started going screwy, and it took interminable fiddling to get it all looking clean and neat.

I was also adding Amazon and affiliate codes (more info here), both for tracking purposes (how many clicks each link got, and how many of those converted into purchases etc.) and to make a little extra money, which slowed things down. But by late Thursday night, after a rigorous round of testing, it was all finished.

Reader Sites

The final part of the puzzle was the reader sites. I made a list, pooling resources/contacts with the participating authors, and got in touch explaining what were we doing.

I provided them with all the information they could possibly need to either link to the sale, mention the books in the sale, or feature some of the books that had been discounted for the weekend. Depending on what each site wanted, or what I thought they might need, I had a raw list of ASINs, a sheet with participating authors, titles, genres, and price drops, as well as blurbs, covers, and fresh copy promoting the sale for each site that needed it.

I think the key point here is too make it as easy as possible for them, to minimize their work, to be flexible and ready to provide them with what they need, and then you have a greater chance of being featured. Also remember that it’s them (potentially) doing you a favor, not the other way around.

Between all the contacts we had, several sites got on board offering to help promote the sale in various ways. All I could do was cross my fingers and hope everything would come through as planned.

I mailed all the participating authors the day before, asking them to drop their prices to 99c before they went to bed on Thursday night, as the first reader site was picking us up very early, posting at around 5:00 am Eastern. There were a few anxious moments when I woke and saw that five books were still at the old price. Luckily, they all dropped within a few minutes.

The Results

The post garnered just shy of 7,500 views over the weekend, generating 4,259 clicks on the book links for Amazon US alone, which resulting in 1,081 sales between the participating authors Amazon US sales directly from the blog post.

The Amazon UK tracking is all screwed up, and I don’t have any tracking for Barnes & Noble, but my estimate is another few hundred sales from those channels, bringing us close to 1,500 sales directly from the blog post. There were lots more sales indirectly attributable to the promotion, though, but I’ll get to that.

There were a few reasons for this phenomenal blog traffic, ranked in order of effect:

(a) Reader sites came through in a big way. The sale was directly linked to by Ebooks For A Buck, Free Kindle Books and Tips, Ereader News Today, Kindle Fire Department, Indie Reader, and Centsible Ereads (and a huge, huge thank you to all of them, and to big review sites like Big Al’s Books And Pals). This was by far the single most important factor in bringing traffic to the blog.

(b) The link spread like wildfire on Twitter, thanks both to the participating authors hitting  their own networks, other authors/blog readers doing the same (thank you!), and the 100 or so readers entering the competition. There was decent traffic coming from Facebook and people clicking on emailed links, but Twitter won hands down.

(c) When I saw I was on track to make about $150 in affiliate income from the sale, I rolled some of that back into banner ads on Project Wonderful, advertising the sale across a variety of book blogs and reader sites. This was more of an experiment than anything else, and did bring some good quality traffic, but a fraction of the above.

As hinted at, those 1,500 or so sales via the blog were only the beginning. There were lots of sales indirectly attributable to the promotion that I couldn’t track. Indie Reader featured some of the books directly on their site, The Cheap featured most of the participating authors, and Ebooks For A BuckFree Kindle Books and Tips, and Booked Up Reviews featured all the books directly on their site.

On top of that, the increased visibility from appearing on genre bestseller lists drove many, many additional sales that weren’t included in the above number. Let me give an example.

Christine DeMaio-Rice’s Dead Is The New Black did particularly well. Her Amazon US book link was clicked on 244 times, resulting in 101 purchases directly attributable to the blog post. However, Christine kindly shared with me her total sales figures for the weekend for that title. She sold 220 on Amazon US, and a further 105 on Barnes & Noble over the three days of the sale. 325 copies total!

As for myself, I sold just shy of 250 books via the promotion – over two titles – making it a very worthwhile exercise, and over ten times what I would have sold normally. Only 100 sales were directly attributable to the blog, so the rest must have come from reader sites, and placement on bestseller lists.

The day after the promotion ended, I sold 24 books at full price, about triple what I had been averaging in March before the sale. The main reason for that was increased visibility.

The ranking graph for A Storm Hits Valparaiso is on the right. As you can see, the sale pulled this book from nowhere, and dragged it right up to #3,000 or so, placing it on genre bestseller lists it hadn’t graced for quite some time.

Let’s Get Digital did even better, almost cracked the Top 2000, but grabbed the #1 spot in its genre anyway, and kept it all weekend.

Its categories need less sales to get to the top spot, as they are quite granular. And top spot will generate sales on its own, as many readers browse bestseller lists for new books to read.

Because it had that extra visibility post-sale, it grabbed 16 of those 24 sales on Monday, when everything was back to full price, and hasn’t fallen as fast.

Some Lessons

Here’s what I learned this weekend:

(a) If you are participating in a limited-time sale, one of your main objectives should be to have good placement on genre bestseller lists when the sale ends and your prices go back up. Yet another reason why you should choose your categories wisely.

(b) The authors who put a note in their Amazon blurb saying something along the lines of “99c SALE FOR THIS WEEKEND ONLY” did far better than those who didn’t.

(c) The smallest change to a blurb can make a huge difference. Christine deMaio-Rice made a little tweak to her blurb, and the amount of clicks and sales jumped.

(d) Reviews really help on-the-fence purchasers. Books with a lot of good reviews had a much higher conversion rate than those that didn’t.

I’ve more data to crunch before I draw any more conclusions, but the whole promotion was great fun, and I think everyone got something out of it. Readers got a great selection of books for 99c. The writers got more sales than usual (many broke new ground), and made some money too. And all of us exited the sale with much better rankings than when we went in and have a bunch of new readers too!

I would like to thank everyone who participated: the authors for taking a gamble at 99c, the readers for purchasing our books, the reader sites for featuring our books, and everyone who shared news of the sale by email and social media. It truly was a group effort.

EDIT: I completely forgot to thank Christine DeMaio-Rice. In addition to working in the fashion world, and writing books set there, she also has a graphic design business which does affordable book covers, and dropped everything to answer my late night SOS to do up a banner for the sale. Thanks Christine!

About David Gaughran

David Gaughran is Irish, living in Prague, and the author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible, and this here blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to St. Patrick’s Day Blowout: Results

  1. Matthew Iden says:

    Hey Dave – Congrats and thanks for sharing numbers, as always. Can you share what the blurb change was that Christine deMaio-Rice did? I’m interested in improving my own blurbs across all books.

    Like

    • If I remember correctly, it was very simple. Just adding “RED ADEPT OUTSTANDING MYSTERY” or something like that to the top of her blurb (on the page here on the blog).

      Also, if my memory isn’t failing me, I seem to remember Mark Edwards & Louise Voss saying that a simple blurb tweak was the spark that got their sales going for “Catch Your Death” (which ended up at #1 in the UK for quite some time).

      Like

  2. Jaye says:

    You are amazing, David. Great job all the way around. Thanks for doing the promo in the first place and double thanks for sharing the results. Best watch out or you’ll end up with yet another career as a marketer.😀

    Like

  3. I’m glad your promo worked, David. You still made a profit even though it was less revenue per book. Unlike free promos, you were able to make it up on volume. Great job. Very creative.

    Like

  4. Congratulations, David. Lots of hard work on your part and this follow-up post is a great service to the whole indie author community. When do you have time to write???

    Like

  5. Congrats on the success, David. And, as one of the featured authors – Thank You! We all appreciate everything you do for the writing community.
    And thanks so much to all of the readers who bought Life Is But A Dream: On The Lake. (psssst the sequel Life Is But a Dream:In The Mountains is FREE on Amazon US and UK for the next three days). Bonus!

    Like

    • Loreto Weir says:

      Thanks for the tip….most definitely a bonus, great to get the sequel..thanks ..:) and thanks again for your book. Fascinating to read on how successfull the promo was and well done to David on his book and organising the whole show…all I need now is a holiday and I,m sorted.

      Like

    • Thanks so much Loreto. I am so glad you were able to get both books! I hope you enjoy them. I love to read books in a series. There is something so fun about returning to characters and finding out how they are doing.
      And thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

      Like

      • Loreto Weir says:

        Sorry! Only have the second one the sequel ..life is but a dream : on the mountain ,( picked up on the free offer in amazon) still waiting for life is but a dream : on the lake, from the competition …before I start reading. 🙂

        Like

      • Loreto – have you received the book yet? You should have by now.

        Like

      • Loreto Weir says:

        yes got it this afternoon only logged on now…great, thank you…looking forward to reading it had to stop myself from reading the sequel first..:)

        Like

  6. Sarah says:

    I don’t want to think about the amount of work you put into it, but it’s so great to know it was so worth it – for all of us! I’m so lucky to have been a part of the sale. Thanks again, David. And good luck to all the entrants!

    Like

  7. Actually, it was the reverse.
    My book had “A Red Adept Select for Outstanding Book in its Genre”

    I moved that to the second line and placed my “Limited time 99c sale – This weekend only” tag above it.

    I know that’s of no use to anyone who wants to tweak their blurb. Sorry.

    Like

  8. Thanks for sharing the figures. It was great to hear of your promo success.

    Like

  9. Congratulations on your successes Dave! Moving to #1 in a genre is a huge achievement! Kudos to you for all your hard work paying off!!

    Like

  10. Thank you so much for doing this, David! I’m glad all of that hard work paid off.

    Like

  11. Thanks so much for all the hard work you put into this sale, Dave! I’m so appreciative that I was able to be involved🙂

    Like

  12. You’re a class act, DG. Thanks for including me!

    Like

  13. Danielle Blanchard says:

    Thank you, David. It was great to be a part of this project. I think the only mistake I made was including a brand new novella as my selection instead of the first book of The Vamp Saga (which has thirteen reviews and a 4.5 rating). A book with reviews is always going to sell better…sigh.😉

    Like

  14. cheeriet says:

    Thanks so much for sorting this out David, from your original idea to its smooth execution. I had boosted sales, rankings… And all it cost us is a few years off your life for the stress! Bargain. So, shall we do it again next weekend? :0)
    Cheers mate!
    Tony

    Like

  15. Michael Gallagher says:

    Dave – great job on organizing this event. It wasn’t just you and the other authors who had a direct benefit for this: just changing the normal mix up for the eBooks for a Buck or Less blog made the traffic for this blog increase 20x for a normal Friday – Sunday period, and I had a lot of readers email me saying they really liked the variety and feeling they were participating in an “exclusive.”

    If you run something like this again, I’d be happy to participate for both blogs.

    Like

    • I’m glad to hear it worked well for you too Michael – your support was crucial. When your mention went live, blog traffic went through the roof.

      I’m also glad to hear your readers enjoyed the selection – we tried to have something for everyone.

      Like

    • That’s fantastic, Michael! I had no idea the sale would help boost your traffic as well. Thank you for the extended mentions on both your blogs!

      And Dave, thank YOU for shaving hours off your life in preparation for the sale and in its execution. Kudos and cheers all around!

      Like

  16. Sam Torode says:

    Tremendous work, David.

    This is a classic example of how boosting others in the indie world is a win-win-win. You, other writers, and readers all benefitted.

    Like

  17. What a great post and outstanding work putting the sale together. I’ve learned so much from your blog. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  18. Adam Pepper says:

    Well done, Dave!

    Like

  19. Great job, David. Thank you so much for including me in the sale. It was greatly appreciated.

    Like

  20. W. H. Dean says:

    Congratulations on a successful sale. I have to think the blurb is far more important than is generally acknowledged. A good PD probably won’t sell a book without a good excerpt. But a bad or nonsensical one is bound to sink it.

    Like

  21. Vicki says:

    Thanks for all your hard work, Dave. And many thanks for the opportunity and the sales boost.🙂

    Like

  22. David did an extraordinary amount of work to organize this sale and I don’t even want to think about how many hours he put into setting up the post with all those covers and links.

    All I know is that I’m thankful to have been part of the whole thing. I had a ton of fun, and I hope everyone else did, too.

    Like

  23. Neil says:

    Congrats!

    Out of curiosity, how did this sale help books by the participating authors that were not on sale?

    Neil

    Like

    • Good question. I don’t have any hard data on that other than my own – I sold a few extra shorts, despite them being the same price and about 10% of the length. Some authors were saying during the weekend that there was some knock-on effect to author titles, but I’ve no real idea.

      Like

  24. Loreto Weir says:

    Well I can answer that one…even though I won the books I still want to purchase the sequels or the prequels of some of the books even though there not on sale…:)..

    Like

  25. Everett Peacock says:

    David,
    If you ever need new author participation please do keep me in mind.
    http://everett.peacock.com

    Like

  26. Pingback: March Sales Report: A Bumper Month & Some Old-School Piracy | David Gaughran

  27. S. Marshall Wilson says:

    David, I’m currently reading “Let’s Get Digital.” When I publish my first novel “Sophistry” very soon, you will have had a hand in making it happen. Thank you, Sir.

    Like

Release Your Word-Minions!

