A Storm Hits Valparaíso – Released Today!

In 1810, José de San Martín deserts the Spanish Army and returns home to Buenos Aires to lead a bloody revolt against his former masters.

Struggling with an increasing dependence on opiates, San Martín forms a secret army of thieves, mercenaries, slaves, and prostitutes to free Argentina from the Spanish Empire.

A Storm Hits Valparaíso is an epic, 400-page historical adventure with a huge cast of characters whose stories gradually interweave, including: two brothers torn apart by love; a slave running for his life, a disgraced British sailor seeking redemption in a foreign land; an Indian trapped in the death mines of Potosí; and a Spanish general who deserts the army to raise the flag of rebellion against Madrid.

A Storm Hits Valparaíso is available for $4.99/£3.99/3.99 Euro from Amazon USAmazon UK, and Amazon Germany, as well as Smashwords (if you own a different e-reader). If you are in Ireland/South Africa/Canada/Australia, you can pick up a copy from Amazon US.

It will also be available from Barnes & Noble, Apple, Kobo, and Sony shortly, but if you frequent these stores, you can buy a version that works for you on Smashwords.

All of my titles are currently only available as e-books. However, don’t forget that you can read e-books on any computer, tablet, or laptop, and on most phones, with this free software. A paperback edition will be released in January.

Download the first six chapters as a PDF:

A Storm Hits Valparaíso by David Gaughran – First Six Chapters

I’m very proud to publish this book and it marks the culmination of a long journey. I started this novel in 2006, and in the five-and-a-half years since then, I have written and re-written the book more times than I care to remember. I almost walked away from it – for good – this summer, only to be rescued by my talented editor, who steered my over the finish line. You can read the full story of the (long) road to publication here.

Any help you could give by sharing this post as widely as possible would be greatly appreciated.

Merry Christmas!

About David Gaughran

David Gaughran is Irish, living in Prague, and the author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible, and this here blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to A Storm Hits Valparaíso – Released Today!

  1. tmso says:

    Ah! I just finished all my books on Kindle and was searching around for stuff to add to the queue. Just added ASHV!

    Like

  2. Jaye says:

    Congrats, David. This is very exciting news and kudos to you for finishing the novel!

    Like

  3. E Hunter says:

    Congratulations, David! I’m going to buy my copy now. Have a wonderful Christmas and a wonderful visit with your family.

    E

    Like

  4. Congratulations! Can’t wait to read it…

    Like

  5. Matthew Iden says:

    Congrats, Dave. I’ve been following your journey for several weeks now and know you must be REALLY excited. Congrats and best wishes for Storm’s success!

    matt

    (p.s. Print some t-shirts with that cover design…it kicks a$$).🙂

    Like

  6. Congratulations, David! May you sell a million copies! 🙂

    Like

  7. Matt Bone says:

    Congratulations, David!
    I just released my debut novel on the very same day🙂

    Like

  8. Whoop whoop! Way to go David! I’ll be checking it out soon!

    Like

  9. Got my copy! Thanks David. Congrats!

    Like

  10. Finally!🙂

    Just picked up my copy and sent an email to a friend who grew up in Argentina and reads historical fiction. I think it’s right up her alley.🙂

    Like

  11. Thank you very much guys. I wish I could stay and see how the book does – I think it’s already around the Top 20 Hot New Releases in Historical Fiction and “Literary”, so that’s a very good start – but my presence is demanded in the pub!

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  12. Enjoy the pub and have a Merry Chrsitmas David! You deserve it. :}

    I’ll be pick up a copy sometime after I open my christmas presensce. (Reading on my net book using apps, not very easy.) Plus I do think I will be picking up a paper copy in Jan for my Da’s birthday in March. :}

    Like

  13. Congratulations, David. I hope it does very well indeed for you.

    Like

  14. Ina says:

    Hi David,
    Congratulations! If you’re looking for an indie translator for an Italian edition of your novel, here I am! Happy to be part of a great change! (I’ve read your post about translations)
    Hope you have a bright Christmas!
    Best
    Ina

    Like

  15. Bill King says:

    Congratulations, Dave! Just bought my copy. Looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  16. Pingback: David Gaughran’s Book Is Live! | J W Manus

  17. Congrats, David! Enjoy the ride.🙂

    Like

  18. Lynn Michelsohn says:

    Congratulations! Best wishes for its great success.

    Like

  19. Cora says:

    Congratulations, David, and happy release day!
    I’m looking forward to A Storm Hits Valparaiso and hope it’s a great success.
    Oh yeah, and Merry Christmas!

    Like

  20. tagrendar says:

    Caught your tweet about your successful conquest of the Top 20 Historical Fiction list. Congratulations!

    Like

  21. aricmitchell says:

    Not to bang the same drum the others are, but release day always enjoys a hearty congratulations. Will be picking this up when I get the Kindle Fire I’m not supposed to know about for Christmas🙂.

    Like

  22. Stefan says:

    Congrats, David. And: Great cover once again (I was half afraid you were going with the WIP one…).

    Like

  23. DC Gallin says:

    Congrats Dave! You must be so relieved! Wish you all the best and may it shoot up the charts and may you have the best xmas ever! (sent you a message on Facebook as well )

    Like

  24. Lene says:

    Congratulations! I look forward to reading it. Have to say one thing first, though… that’s the best cover of a book I’ve seen in years! Fantastically evocative, makes me want to read the story.

    Like

  25. Dave says:

    Congrat’s again Dave

    LOVE the cover. Looking forward to the first ASHV sales report.

    Happy holidays.

    Like

  26. Pingback: A Storm Hits - The Tech Savvy Writer

  27. Awesome! Poppy lets the child loose int he world, finally!

    Like

  28. saraflower says:

    This story sounds so interesting. Historical adventures are one of my favourite types of stories. Love the cover, too! I am buying this.

    Like

  29. Congratulations, David! How is it that we both managed to publish novels on the very same day? We couldn’t have succeeded if we had actually planned it. : ) I’m off to buy my copy. I’m very much intrigued to find out what happens to Catalina. Best, Katherine Owen

    Like

  30. Neal Hock says:

    Congrats, David. I look forward to reading this.

    -Neal

    Like

  31. patricefitz says:

    Congratulations, David! I’ll post and tweet and generally shout it about… you must be chuffed.

    Go have a drink on me… I’m celebrating too. Made my political thriller RUNNING free today only and I’ve gotten to #18 on the Free list, and I’ve had 7,000+ downloads so far.

    Oh, and I’m about to go buy A Storm Hits Valparaiso!

    Like

  32. Congratulations. Success and good fortune for the new book and throughout the year.

    Like

  33. Congrats, David. I can’t wait to read! This is the big one. You are an extremely talented writer and I wish you all the luck in the world.😉

    Like

  34. Good luck David. Looking forward to reading this one!

    Like

  35. The Hook says:

    Congratulations on the continued success, good sir!

    Like

Release Your Word-Minions!

