I’m Leaving You

There is no other way to tell you this, and I wish it could be otherwise, but, I’m leaving you. It’s not you, it’s me. I need a break.

Fear not! I’m only going on holidays, and in two short weeks, I will be back – tanned, rejuvenated, and with only minor, repairable damage done to my liver.

While I am in Portugal, I will be handing my blog over to a series of superb guest posters. I don’t want to spoil the surprise, but I will say that you are in for a treat.

Until then, you can read my regular column over at IndieReader.com which has just been posted. It’s called The Only Gatekeepers Readers Need.

As the waves lap playfully at my ankles, and I signal for another large drink with a small umbrellas, all these guest posts will be automatically appear in my absence, and at some point my August sales report will pop up.

My internet access will be intermittent, unlike my desire to stay the hell away from it. If you send me something, it could be some time before I respond. I also won’t be around to join in the comments, so if you wanted to start a literary feud with me, now is the perfect time.

I’ll see you in a couple of weeks!

About David Gaughran

David Gaughran is Irish, living in Prague, and the author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible, and this here blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I’m Leaving You

  1. Well have fun! And… what were those lyrics to the song I heard in Zumba yesterday….

    Something about being knee deep in the water, and his only worry was “will the tide reach my chair”…

    :} Cathryn Leigh

    Like

  2. Have fun! Portugal is an awesome place for a vacation.

    Like

  3. TheSFReader says:

    Have a NICE holidays, with lots of fun, rest, and with everyone you need !

    Like

  4. Femme_Mal says:

    Have a blast, drink plenty of sherry before and after dinner. Oh, and I recommend lots of chilled vinho verde. Bom feriado!

    Like

  5. Have a wonderful time!

    Like

  6. “…and with only minor, repairable damage done to my liver.”

    0_o Are you *sure* you’re Irish, Dave?

    Have fun!

    Like

  7. Your headline worried me! Thank God it’s just a vacation. You’ll be missed, but I hope you get plenty of rest and relaxation. Intermittent Internet might be best. It IS hard to turn it off. Turning off the mind from thoughts of your novels, readers, and blogs, well, that’s another thing entirely. : )

    Like

  8. Go, breathe deep, soak up the sun, and listen to what is — or nothing.

    Just relax.

    Josie

    Like

  9. Lacy Camey says:

    Have the best time ever! And may you come back with your mind filled with 100 short stories to write from inspiration🙂

    Like

  10. E Hunter says:

    No internet feud needed. Have an amazing time and I’m incredibly jealous. I wish your liver good luck!

    E

    Like

  11. Wow! Have a great time!

    Like

  12. Have a fabulous time and get a tan for me. Or at least raise a glass in my honor. And think of me fondly. I know you will. Heh.

    Like

  13. Zoe Faulder says:

    You’re heading out over to my home country – enjoy it’s generally lovely this time of year!

    I just wanted to apologise for not respoding to a question you posed on one of my posts (back in April … I’m very slow at responding)

    You asked about lobbying on VAT on ebooks – the reply is here http://apples-bananas.blogspot.com/2011/03/vat-on-ebooks_23.html?showComment=1314725663545#c4584957165950829585

    Have a lovely holiday!

    Like

  14. Have a great time, David. We’re looking forward your guest posters, but whoever they are we still look forward to having you back!

    Like

Release Your Word-Minions!

