If You Go Into The Woods – On Sale Now For 99 Cent

I have some exciting news. I set up my own publishing company – Arriba Arriba Books – to publish my short stories as e-books for $0.99 each. You can read them on your laptop, computer, iPhone, smartphone, iPad, or e-reader. The first release – IF YOU GO INTO THE WOODS – is available now from Amazon.

I have a special deal to kick things off – two stories for the price of one – both creepy tales set in a world that’s not quite right. Here’s a quick taste of what you get for $0.99: 

IF YOU GO INTO THE WOODS

Eight-year old Jiři Beranek is drawn into a large, nearby forest, captivated by beautiful music from birds hidden high in the trees. Each time he enters, his desire to see the mysterious creatures is checked by his fear of the dark. When he finally forces himself to go farther, he finds a new reason to be afraid.

+ Bonus story: THE RESET BUTTON 

Linus Eriksson, a divorced bachelor living alone in his small one-bedroom apartment, is a man with a memory problem: instead of not being able to remember anyone, nobody can remember him.

Together these stories run to 4,000 words, or about 16 book pages. To display them as they are meant to be read, they are only available as e-books. You can read an e-book on any computer or smartphone by downloading a free piece of software from Amazon.

Click here to download it. You will need to do this before you can purchase any e-books. Once you have installed the program, you can download a free sample of any e-book before buying, including mine.

If you want to check out my stories, and are in the UK, click here. For Germany, click here. For all other countries, you should click here. If Amazon doesn’t let you purchase because of your location, or if you have an e-reader which is not a Kindle, then you can buy a copy from Smashwords or Xinxii.

If any of these links don’t work, just search for “David Gaughran” on any of these websites and the book should appear at the top of the list. Please note that some prices may vary depending on your currency and the sales tax in your area. If you have any problems, let me know.

These e-books will also be available from the iBookstore, Google, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and Sony in a week or two. If you don’t already have the free Kindle app, you can download it here so you can enjoy e-books on your computers or smartphones.

If you do buy it, and you enjoy it, I would ask that you consider leaving a review on the site where you got it. Reviews are essential for independent authors to gain any kind of exposure, but I would request that you keep it genuine.

In other news, the first story in this e-book, IF YOU GO INTO THE WOODS, was selected by Short Story America for inclusion in their Anthology of the Best Stories of 2010. The 56-story hardback edition has just been released. Paperback and audio (both mp3 and CD) versions are planned for later in the year. To read more about that, and the excellent early reviews, please click here.

To keep up to date with all the latest news, future releases from Arriba Arriba Books, and my sales figures, stick around, I’ll be posting it all. In the interest of full disclosure, I have four sales already from Amazon US, and one from Amazon UK, and a very nice review (four stars).

If you are new to the blog, I have a series of posts on the changes in the publishing industry, a quick guide on how to make money from writing, a step-by-step guide on getting your own stories into (digital) print called INDIE PUBLISHING FOR INTERNATIONAL WRITERS, and some questionable haikus.

P.S. I am going up against all the big publishers in New York and London, with all their huge marketing budgets. I will really be relying on word of mouth to sell any copies at all. If you would like to help get the word out to readers, please share this this news on Facebook and Twitter, and “Like” the book on its Amazon page.

About David Gaughran

David Gaughran is Irish, living in Prague, and the author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible, and this here blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to If You Go Into The Woods – On Sale Now For 99 Cent

  1. Josie Wade says:

    I just wanted to congratulate you on your short story collection and how wonderfully it is being received! I’m knee-deep in work right now, but will read it as soon as possible.

    Keep up the good work.

    • Hi Josie,

      The wonderful thing about e-books is that you have all the time in the world. It will never go out of print!

      Thank you for your kind comments.

      Dave

      P.S. #43 In US Kindle Short Story Bestseller Chart. My way is blocked by Poe. I don’t fancy my chances.

  2. Josie Wade says:

    Dave,

    Poe is a wily old drunk and a worthy competitor. I grew up just outside Baltimore so I understand his allure. However, summer holiday season stretches before us and I think you can take him during the hiatus.

    I meant to tell you, but was in a rush before, that I like the cover of your book too. The whole thing is a beautiful presentation.

    Josie

    • I leapfrogged him for a second, hit a brick wall at #40, then slid back to the 60s.

      It was fun while it lasted though!

      My sister did the cover, and I’m pretty sure that’s the main reason why so many people are trying it out. I loooooooooove it.

  3. Pingback: My Fifteen Minutes of Fame: Sales, Bestseller Charts & Mistakes | David Gaughran

  4. Pingback: Blog Anniversary & Competition Winners | David Gaughran

  5. Hi David — I just discovered your blog and it’s excellent! Thank you very much for the wonderful information conveyed via wonderful writing.

    I’m posting a question here because I have a quick question/request for a future entry: 1)Why did you set up a company for your books? 2)How did you set up a company? 3)How is this different than “normal” self-publication without a company?

    I ask because I was thinking of setting up my own company for self-pubbing and I’m wondering if I’ve considered all the angles, practicalities, etc.

    Thanks.

    • Hi Diane,

      Thank you for your kind comments. You don’t have to set up your own publishing company – there are a number of options available. And really, the pros and cons of doing so (and what structure that company should take) really depend on the local laws/regulations/tax issues where you live. I’m Irish, so I’m not sure I can advise you on that score. If you have a friend where you live who has set up a small business, perhaps you could check with them what the various benefits, costs, and filing requirements are for the different options.

      Dave

      • Sorry, wasn’t trying to be cryptic or ask for legal/financial advice. I was simply wondering what having your own publishing name brings to the table for you that publishing as “David Gaughran” doesn’t.

      • In one sense it doesn’t really matter what you put in that “Publisher” box, as you can change it whenever you like and nobody reads it anyway (bar other writers and those working in the business). I decided from the start that I was going to set up a company and publish everything through that. While I probably won’t want to publish other writers, I could easily see myself, say, publishing an anthology or other collaborative work, and publishing through a company makes more sense for things like that. Depending on the laws where you live, there can be tax advantages, or you can write off certain expenses etc. Ultimately, I want to set up my own e-bookstore so that readers can buy direct from me, and the name of the store will be that of my publishing company, and I have the domain and so on. It seemed to make sense for all sorts of reasons.

Release Your Word-Minions!

