Sneak Preview of My First E-Book: If You Go Into The Woods

Hi all,

I just uploaded my first e-book to Amazon, Smashwords, and Xinxii. It should be available for download in a few days for the low, low price of $0.99. It will probably appear on Amazon first, by Tuesday I would think, barring any glitches. I’ll let you know when it does, in case you want to check it out.

I wanted to give you a sneak preview of the cover and the description. The cover is on the left, and it was designed by my sister. It’s amazing, I can’t stop staring at it (but probably should).

The blurb is below, but I just want to say something before I go: this feels great.

Dave

“IF YOU GO INTO THE WOODS”

Eight-year old Jiři Beranek is drawn into a large, nearby forest, captivated by beautiful music from birds hidden high in the trees. Each time he enters, his desire to see the mysterious creatures is checked by his fear of the dark. When he finally forces himself to go farther, he finds a new reason to be afraid. (Short Story, 2,000 words, 8 pages.)

+ Bonus story: “THE RESET BUTTON”

Linus Eriksson, a divorced bachelor living alone in his small one-bedroom apartment, is a man with a memory problem: instead of not being able to remember anyone, nobody can remember him. (Short Story, 2,000 words, 8 pages.)

David Gaughran is a 33-year old Irish writer, living in Sweden, who spends most of his time travelling the world, collecting stories, and writing about them.

About David Gaughran

David Gaughran is Irish, living in Prague, and the author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible, and this here blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sneak Preview of My First E-Book: If You Go Into The Woods

  1. John says:

    Congrats, Dave.

    Excellent cover. Minimal with good use of colour that catches your eye and clearly states the title and author.

    Although, personally I wouldn’t pay 99 cents for a short story, especially one that would take less than 5 minutes to read. However, the “bonus” story is an interesting idea… except for the fact that to me, the bonus story (The Reset Button) sounds way more interesting than title story (If You Go Into The Woods).

    Perhaps this was your plan all along…?

    Like

    • Thanks John,

      I think they’re both strong stories, and the people that have read both seem evenly split.

      I had to pack two into this release because they were both relatively short. The next release will be longer again a 6000 word/25 page SF Technothriller called TRANSFECTION for the same price. Hope to have that up in a week or two.

      The descriptions are tricky to write with short stories, you don’t want to give too much away. It was definitely easier to write the blurb for the second, the first was super tough, and I still don’t think I do it justice. The beauty of this is though that I can change it at any time. I can probably do something better when I am less fried.

      I just realised it’s 3 weeks and 6 days since I first decided to self-publish some short stories. I gave myself a deadline of the end of the month, but I thought that was hopelessly optimistic. Turns out I just snuck it in there. And in that time, I set up this blog, wrote that new short I mentioned above, wrote about 20,000 words of a very rough draft for a non-fiction project, and researched all the pieces for this blog.

      I have never been remotely this productive, not even when I was sprinting towards the finish line for my first novel with the wind at my back.

      There’s something about self-publishing that is very motivating.

      Like

      • John says:

        No disagreement there. Often queries, blurbs, descriptions, loglines, etc, are harder to write than the story itself. You see it all the time.

        Take movies for example, a different medium but the same thing. Trailers these days are all CGI, explosions, gunfights, and/or all the funny/interesting parts crammed into 2 minutes. And the trailers that aren’t just filled with all the stuff that “looks cool”, are practically just 2 minute summaries…

        The worst offender has to be the trailer for Cast Away — not only was it a 2 minute summary of all the big beats, it also revealed ending, which was the only driving force that movie had — whether or not he survives and gets off the island!!!

        Like

      • Oh you are so right, I can’t even watch a trailer for a movie I plan to see anymore. Sometimes when I see one I just think, well you just saved me $10. Cast Away was a classic example.

        Re loglines etc., sometimes when they are done well, they are very good. Or so bad that they are good. I remember the one for that Volcano movie a good few years back – “The Coast is Toast.”

        Like

  2. Aonghus Fallon says:

    Great cover, David. Hope your stories live up to it!

    Like

    • Thanks Aonghus – me too! No pressure there at all!

      Perhaps if I am sending copies to reviewers I should just mock up a terrible cover on MS paint and set expectations appropriately!

      Like

      • Hektor Karl says:

        I also think it’s a great cover, Dave.

        There’s nothing wrong with high expectations if you can meet them.

        Like

      • My cover designer is fantastic, I am very lucky.

        I’m proud of these two stories, but the one coming in a week or two might be my favourite, but then I always like the last thing I wrote most.

        Like

  3. Jeanne Miller says:

    Looks great! I shared to Facebook and Twitter. I know what I’ll be reading next .
    🙂

    Like

  4. JB Toner says:

    Is “If You Go Into the Woods” the same story that I read in SSA?

    Like

  5. JB Toner says:

    Just one quick question, David: Did you start with single- or double-spaced copy of your stories? Or does it matter?

    Thx
    JB

    Like

    • Hi JB,

      If you are talking about the .EPUB and .MOBI files you generate for uploading, the spacing is lost once you dump it from word into Notepad++ anyway. I’m not sure how the Smashwords system handles the .doc file, so I changed everything in the .doc file to 1.5 spacing, which is what I read everywhere, and seems right to me. I only use double spacing for my own use, and if I am submitting to agents/editors/magazines.

      Dave

      Like

  6. Shéa says:

    Woohoo! Congrats! Doin’ the happy dance for ya.

    Like

  7. David Larson says:

    Very nice cover!!

    Like

Release Your Word-Minions!

