Welcome to the Pleasuredome

There are lots of blogs out there on the publishing business, and writing in general, but I thought there was room for one on indie publishing from the perspective of an international writer.

First, a little about me. I am a 33-year-old Irish writer, living in Stockholm.  Notice I said writer, not author. My mother always said I was a writer, authors get paid. I got paid $100 last year. She said I need to be making more than that. And you know what? She’s right.

I’ve written a bunch of short stories and had two published, one online and one in a print magazine. In fact, it’s the same story, I didn’t get paid the first time it got published, but I managed to snag $100 for the reprint rights.  This story will also be appearing in a hardback anthology, due out in a month or so.  One of the things we will talk about on this blog are the different ways you can sell the same story.

I have also written one novel – América! – a fast-paced historical adventure solving the mystery of why Jose de San Martín, who led a bloody, twelve-year campaign to liberate South America, resigned and allowed Simón Bolívar the glory of the final victory.

Sounds great, right? But it has stubbornly refused to attract a publishing deal, despite 18 months of emailing agents and rewriting the novel (over and over and over).

In fact, like most writers starting off, I became obsessed with getting an agent (for those who don’t know much about the publishing business, it’s not possible to submit to most major publishing houses without one). I would spend the vast majority of time reading about agents, researching agents, emailing agents, worrying about agents, posting stuff to agents, and my writing suffered.  On Sunday, after a week in bed with the flu, I had an epiphany.  From now on, that time would be spent writing stories.

I had been reading the blog of Joe Konrath for some time. For those that don’t know, Joe is something of a hero in the indie publishing world.  A solid mid-lister who took the plunge into self-publishing a couple of years ago, and has made a ton of money, most of it on stuff he couldn’t sell to the NY publishing houses, wiping the floor with more established writers who have all the muscle of corporate publishing behind them. His blog is a great introduction to indie publishing, has a ton of practical advice, and anyone interested should read it from April 2009 to finish.

There were two news items I caught up with that week.  First, internationally bestselling thriller writer Barry Eisler walked away from a $500,000 two-book deal to self-publish. Second, indie writer Amanda Hocking signed a $2,000,000 deal with a New York publishing house.  Joe Konrath has a fascinating discussion between himself and Barry Eisler on his blog about all of this.

A few things came together in my mind, and I decided to test the waters in digital publishing.  The plan is this: write a bunch of short stories, publish them online, sell ’em for 99c each, kinda like singles.  People will be able to read them on their iPhones, their Kindles, their iPads, their laptops, whatever. When I have a five or six stories together, I’ll release the album, a collection, for maybe $2.99.

If it fails, if no-one buys them, at least I will have learned a little about digital publishing, and I can always sell the reprint rights to magazines. If it is successful, then I can consider publishing my novel that way. I will post all the figures as I go along, so you can see how I am doing for yourself.

I already have two stories ready to publish, a third I am just finishing off, and people are helping me with covers and formatting and all that other stuff I need to learn.  I want to do this as cheaply as possible, and blog about the experience along the way so that if you want, you can try it yourself.

As I said above, there are great resources out there already on what you need to learn, and I will talk about those as we go along.  However, doing my own research for this, I have found that there are a couple of extra hoops for non-U.S. authors to jump through, and the information is harder to find, so I thought it would be helpful if it was all gathered in one place.

These posts will be part of a series called INDIE PUBLISHING FOR INTERNATIONAL AUTHORS and I will put it all together in a free eBook when the series is done.  I will probably put it up on Amazon for sale too, just as an experiment.

I don’t know where this will all lead, and I’m probably going to make a bunch of mistakes along the way, but you know what? It’s going to be fun.

About David Gaughran

David Gaughran is Irish, living in Prague, and the author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible, and this here blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Welcome to the Pleasuredome

  1. Cate says:

    What a coincidence that I stumbled upon your blog on its first day! I am a writer, too (though not an autor by your mom’s standards). I really don’t know where to start. I recently began a blog, which has been fun though not widely ready, and I’m working on some short stories, but don’t know where to send them. I look forward to following you on your journey and learning a thing or two!

    Like

  2. Hi Cate, you might be the first reader as well as the first commenter, I haven’t even told anyone about the blog because I haven’t fixed the layout and the graphics yet (must get rid of that stock photo from the top bar for starters). I’ll be doing a piece on where you can send your short stories to if you are looking to get them published in magazines and so on, as well as covering the whole journey of publishing them digitally. One thing to remember is you can always get them published in a magazine first, and then publish them yourself afterwards, but its harder to do the other way around, magazines like those “first” rights. Anyway, thanks for reading, Dave.

    Like

  3. Mad Iguana says:

    Excellent post – really good idea. Got here from Absolute Write, so I’m chuffed to be around at the start of what really looks like it might end up being an interesting series.
    Whether intending to self-publish or get a deal eventually, the idea of small indie-publishing of a series of short stories is an excellent one.
    Hopefully it’ll work out for you! I’m still hoping to go the traditional route, but since I haven’t finished my book yet, it could be some time. Perhaps a few indie-published short stories would help to gather some enthusiasm for an unpublished author’s work, as well as getting a feel for whether it’s actually a workable / popular style or not.
    Hmmm. Lots of ideas floating around.
    Anyway, I’m rambling now, but I really just wanted to say, good post, excellent idea, and I’ll be watching your progress and rooting for your success!

    Like

  4. Hi MI, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I’m really excited about this project. I just finished a new short last night, my first science fiction piece, so that’s three stories I have in the bank now waiting to be published. I need to figure out a lot of stuff before I can get them online, and people can learn with me as they go. I still haven’t decided what route to go with my novel yet, but the cool thing about this is there are options out there. Time will tell. Don’t forget to finish that novel! Once you do, you’ll be one up on 90% of the people that have ever thought about writing a book. Dave

    Like

  5. Tony Slater says:

    Great stuff Dave, can’t wait to see how this pans out. I’m right on the cusp of self publishing my book after growing bored of trying the traditional route, so all the info you share will be super useful! And you never know, I might even learn a few things I can share with you too. Best of luck, and can’t wait for the next post.
    Cheers,
    Tony

    Like

  6. Pingback: Indie Publishing for International Writers, Step 4: Format Your Story | David Gaughran

Release Your Word-Minions!

