Penguin’s New Business Model: Exploiting Writers

I don’t normally post here just to inform you of articles I have written elsewhere, but I think this one is important.

Most of you will have heard the news that Penguin’s parent Pearson has purchased the infamous self-publishing services company Author Solutions (owners of Author House, iUniverse, Xlibris, Trafford and many more).

I have written about the deal in a column for IndieReader today. You can read that post here: Penguin’s New Business Model: Exploiting Writers.

Given the nature of that post, I would appreciate you sharing it as widely as possible.

Enjoy your weekend!

About davidgaughran

David Gaughran is an Irish writer, living in Prague, and author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible and this here blog thing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Penguin’s New Business Model: Exploiting Writers

  1. Great article, and nicely done on the research.

    • Tim Vicary says:

      Great article David, and thank you for warning everyone of the dangers of this company. No sooner do self-publishing writers dive into the ocean of freedom than they they are circled by sharks gathering all around. You are rapidly making a name for yourself as a journalist as well as an author – keep up the good work! Incidentally I tried to comment directly under the actaul article but the site rejected my words as invalid; is this my incopetence (probably) or censorship (scarey)?

    • Thanks Stan, but kudos should go to people like Emily Seuss who has been relentless in documenting the atrocities.

  2. Martin Lake says:

    Another timely ariticle, Dave.

  3. Tim Vicary says:

    Probably incompetence since I clearly can’t spell. It IS Friday afternoon!

  4. And ALL of the subsidiaries of Author Solutions are predatory vanity publishers.

  5. Great article! Thanks for the heads up!

  6. authorsanon says:

    Reblogged this on NewsLetter and commented:
    Writers Beware: Before signing up ….

  7. Dan Harris says:

    Reblogged this on Sailing the Void and commented:
    Oh, Penguin. How could you. After all those books I enjoyed so much when I was a child.

  8. It’s so sad (or infuriating, depending on my mood) that some publishers are now setting their sights on authors and their wallets when they should focus all of their energy on nurturing writing great talent and keeping their sights on the wallets of readers, who will only be too eager to part with their money for a great read. I had a very sobering experience this week. I had contacted Charisma House, a large Christian traditional publishing house, to see if they’d be interested in publishing my novel. Less than a month later, I received an offer to “co-publish” through the vanity side of their house. I’ve just uploaded a long blog post about it (took me two days to write, mostly because I had to stop whenever I was getting too worked up!) on my website if anyone wants more information about my experience.

  9. Dustin Wood says:

    Great article, David. I’ll also add that I found the image of penguin fornication quiet apropos.

  10. Reblogged this on Cristian Mihai and commented:
    I don’t usually reblog other posts, but I think this one should be read by every writer who wants to self-publish.

  11. herminestrand says:

    I quarrel with the assertion that vanity publishing is the same as self-publishing. Vanity publishers charge money to publish a book, and therefore encourage the publication of unready material that won’t sell, so they should be avoided. True self-publishing doesn’t cost money in itself; you can publish on KDP or Smashwords without spending a penny on the actual publishing. Yes, you often do have to find contractors you can pay for certain services, but all told it shouldn’t cost anywhere near as much as vanity publishers charge for a component of self-publishing that is totally free.

    • I don’t think vanity publishing is the same as self-publishing, but I do think the lines are blurring – which makes it doubly important to call out exploitative models like the Penguin-owned Author Solutions. Yes, I pay for editing. But when I send a book to my editor that’s half-cooked, she tells me to rewrite, not to publish.

      We probably need a new set of definitions to avoid arguments about, well, definitions. Personally, I would classify Author Solutions as a “self-publishing service company” or an “author service company” – but I’m open to suggestions.

      • herminestrand says:

        Fair enough, David. The key, however, is what you say about your editor: she doesn’t push you to publish unready work because she can make money off your very act of publishing. The vanity publishing category, to me, is those who make money off the very act of publishing and therefore have incentive to arrange for publication of substandard work. If you are simply free to publish at will without being charged anything for that alone, then it’s not vanity publishing. Sorry if I seem a bit anal about these things, but it’s definitely possible to self-publish high-quality work if the author puts in the effort to make his book ready, which includes getting professional help with things like editing, proofing and cover design. Your article seemed to perpetuate the stigma against self-publishing by naming a company that calls itself a self-publisher and rips people off.

      • Are you familiar with this blog? It would be pretty hard to make the argument that I’m perpetuating any stigma against self-publishing. I think we are arguing about terms, rather than actually being on opposite sides of the fence.

        That said, I would argue that “self-publishing service company” or “author service company” is a more accurate term. They sell all sorts of services to authors/self-publishers that don’t involve publishing your book (and I believe, but am open to being corrected, that you can purchase these services even if you don’t actually publish your book with Author Solutions).

        Finally, I am more than aware that it’s possible to self-publish work of the highest quality – as good, if not better, than what’s coming out of the major publishers. It’s what I strive for, and encourage.

      • herminestrand says:

        Hi, David. Please scroll up. in truth, this is my first exposure to your blog and, because I need 60 hours in my day the way every other writer does, I hadn’t done the legwork to research your blog. For that I apologize. You’ve made things very clear and I thank you–and my commitment to quality self-publishing and giving the reader good value for her money and a good reading experience is also strong.

  12. John says:

    This is disgusting! Gives Capitalism a black eye…

  13. Absolutely self promote your article, because that’s the point isn’t it? If it wasn’t worth reading no one would bother getting to the end of it, and if you hadn’t put it in your blog I for one would not have come across it. In response, it seems to me that unfortunately today’s ‘reader’ is also part of the problem, perpetuating the devaluing of quality writing by only opening their wallets (or should that be purses!?) for 50 Shades Of Crap. If that’s not an obvious example of zero editing versus the latest popular fad I don’t know what is. If the response of musicians to a competitive market full of dross was to use MySpace etc as a platform for self promotion, (given that books are also increasingly electronic mediums), social networks and YouTube could seriously be the future for establishing a market/audience. I know it’s arguable that performers are more naturally suited to just putting themselves out there, but; many, many great writers, Dickens included, were self publishers first, using the hook of publishing chapters in serial form, periodically, leaving readers wanting more, before they were ever popular enough to beable to publish a complete book. Vanity or just canny self marketing?

    • I don’t know what to think about 50 Shades. I haven’t read it, and probably won’t, so I can’t comment on whether it’s any good or not. I hear from people who tell me it’s crap, and then I hear of people reading it who haven’t picked up a book in years. As long as they pick something else up afterwards…

      As for social media, it’s extremely important. The only thing that has ever really sold books is word-of-mouth. The difference today is that word of your book can spread at the speed of light. It’s never been easier to share your opinions with people that care about them and trust them, and will act on them. For writers, I think it’s important both to join the conversation, and to give your readers the tools to spread word of your book. For example, at the back of all my e-books is a sign-up to my new release mailing list (which has all sorts of sharing buttons embedded), blurbs for all my other titles (and clickable links), links to my social media, and a review request (with clickable links).

      • Neil says:

        “I hear from people who tell me it’s crap, and then I hear of people reading it who haven’t picked up a book in years. As long as they pick something else up afterwards…”
        Worth emphasis. I do not care what people read (within a broad reasonable range) as long as they keep reading.

        Not just so authors have an income. But as reading stimulates thought more than TV. I personally read a lot of fun ‘crap.’ But some of that ‘crap’ is well written and thought provoking, it just isn’t for everyone. ;) So I talk about more high brow books and recommend the fun to those looking for similar books.

        I hope the popularity of these new(ish) sub-genres sell quite a few more ereaders. For growing the industry would be a great thing.

        Neil

      • @Neil

        Amen, brother!

  14. apreachaskid says:

    I think I would agree that author and former CEO of Thomas Nelson, Michael Hyatt might say that these author were rally victims of their own lack of a real platform before publishing with this company that was acquired by Penguin.

  15. Pingback: Writers Beware: This is NOT Self-Publishing | Theo Fenraven

  16. Yeah I tend to agree after reading that one of their subsidiary companies was Authorhouse, I was burned with them for my first novel The Boston Slasher. Slick marketing, I have to hand it to the salesman who spent an hour with me over the phone. But…at the end of the day I earned more money buying fifty copies and selling them for cash in hand rather than buying their overpriced products. As you mentioned I won’t be using them again. Thanks for the heads up with Penguin as well.

  17. Thanks for sharing this.

  18. Thanks muchly. I had looked at iUniverse, thinking it was better than Xlibris, good to find out their connection.

    • Yeah, it’s the illusion of choice. In short, Author Solutions bought up many of their competitors in succession. Those with formerly good service rapidly deteriorated under their control. Given Penguin’s first foray into the author/self-publisher services arena (Book Country), I don’t hold out much hope for a reversal.

  19. Stealing Shade says:

    Reblogged this on Stealing Shade and commented:
    Definitely worth a look if you’ve ever considered self-publishing. Much information I’m glad to have. Thanks for the article, David!

  20. A couple of points. As writers learn about self-publishing, the profitabilty of these vanity publishers/ author service providers could decline. As you mentioned Dave their authors mostly get caught once. Secondly, Penguin is damaging its brand with this purchase ( as per the disappointed comments of Penguin consumers.) All it all, it looks like a bad deal for Penguin and possibly a sign of desperation. .I noticed an ad for a pretty dodgy looking author service on the other site where you blogged. This has always been a tactic of the shonks, advertise on legitimate writers’s sites or in legitimate magazines.. If any of us see evidence of this, we should contact the legitimate medium.

  21. Pingback: Important information for all indie authors! « Meeka's Mind

  22. Raniel says:

    Informative piece. Sad that even publishing had to go this low. Although I kind of like the Penguin classics. They probably shelf out the cheapest Das Capital out there.

  23. Offthebeatenpath says:

    I think the picture with the two pigeons is accurate overall. Self publishing is the way to go if you can do it. A lot of the greats–Dickens, A. Dumas, Dostoeyvsky, etc.–were publishing their work serially on newspapers. The blog is a similar medium. If you can build a huge following, well then, who knows. Great information!

  24. Pingback: Writing Blog Treasures 7~28 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer

  25. I inquired about the services of AuthorHouse and they were pretty persistent about reeling me in as a client, even after I told them I preferred to do it alone. Borderline aggressive acquisition. In the end I requested information via email and send them a reply that I wouldn’t use their services. Haven’t heard from them since.

  26. Pingback: Penguin’s Solution for Authors: One Racket To Rule Them All | David Gaughran

  27. Pingback: Penguin’s Solution for Authors: One Racket To Rule Them All « Wo3lfMad

  28. vineyard says:

    Have you at any time had a really unforgettable glass of wine?
    What about a unforgettable bottle? Which was extra critical to the experience,
    the corporation or the wine alone?

  29. Pingback: A List of Things Scott Turow Doesn’t Care About | David Gaughran

  30. Pingback: The Bookseller Hires Author Solutions Exec To Spout Propaganda | David Gaughran

Release Your Word-Minions!

