Let’s Get Digital Released Today!

It is with great pleasure, and no small amount of pride, that I can tell you that Let’s Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should has been officially launched.

It’s been three hard months to get to this point, but it has all been worth it. I’m very proud of this book, and I think people will get a lot out of it.

As regular readers will know, I’m trying an experiment with this book. The PDF Version is free – here – for anyone to copy, download, share, print, or email.

You can also purchase an e-reader compatible version for $2.99 from Amazon, Amazon UK, Amazon DE, or Smashwords.

If you notice a funny price on Amazon (like $5.74) that’s because of a $2 surcharge Amazon applies to many international readers. You can avoid that surcharge, and pay only $2.99 by purchasing from Smashwords.

The early reviews have been superb, which makes me very, very happy (and a huge thank you to the reviewers for reading the book at such short notice).

I’ll be having a release party all day (and maybe all night) on Facebook, so come along if you want to see a big box of wine with a very small tap.

In case you missed it yesterday, this was my big thank you to everyone who made this book happen, not least my blog readers.

Some people have asked how they can help promote the book. The best thing to do is to link to the download page. I’m trying to push the free version as hard as possible. Please feel free to copy, email and share the PDF with anyone you think may be interested.

For those of you on Twitter, here are some suggested tweets:

#LetsGetDigital 60k of articles, essays, and #SelfPublishing how-to guides, w/contributions from 33 indie writers http://bit.ly/oletsget

#LetsGetDigital If you are considering #SelfPublishing you need to read this book http://bit.ly/oletsget

Interested in #SelfPublishing but don’t know where to start? #LetsGetDigital explains it all http://bit.ly/oletsget

Clear, practical #SelfPublishing advice at your fingertips, #LetsGetDigital covers it all http://bit.ly/oletsget

I’m off to polish some glasses.

About davidgaughran

David Gaughran is an Irish writer, living in Prague, and author of Mercenary, A Storm Hits Valparaiso, Let's Get Digital, Let's Get Visible and this here blog thing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Let’s Get Digital Released Today!

  1. aka Trafalgar says:

    Hurrah! At last.

    Mine’s a large Merlot, please, David – yes, I know it’s early but might as well start as I mean to go on.

    Off to download – and broadcast.

  2. The wait is over!! *cue obnoxious cheering* I’m off to get my copy :)

  3. Hello all!

    Well the book has been selling very briskly this morning. I have had a couple of reports of the site being slow (possibly down to increased traffic), so if you experienced that, please let me know.

    I’m going to put up an alternate site for downloading the PDF shortly as a workaround.

    Sorry to anyone affected!

    Dave

  4. Ahem …. SQUEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry. It had to be done.

    LOVING it so far. If I hadn’t already gone indie, I think this would make up my mind for me. :-) Brilliantly done, Dave.

    Oh, and I’ll have the rosé d’Anjou, thanks.

  5. David H. Burton says:

    Been looking forward to this! Bought it!

  6. Pingback: David Gaughran self-publishes new book on self-publishing « Kindle Authors Australia

  7. Stefan says:

    Congrats! If you don’t stock Bavarian beer, it’s a dry white one for me.

    Smashwords is working fine as well, only the tags look a bit out of bounds (Firefox 4). Seems to be due to the lack of commas between formatting and digital…

  8. josephine wade says:

    Way to go!

    In all seriousness I do hope the book does well because it explains the ‘indie’ perspective so well. I hope even dye-in-the-wool traditionalists will at consider getting it so they get were are not in two competing camps.

    Ok, off my soapbox.

    Very happy for you.

  9. amyshojai says:

    I am sooooo gonna share this, good for you! Just tweeted, will include in a blog, too.

  10. Alex Adena says:

    Way to go, David. Just tweeted.

    Your cover is so dead-on for the times because we are in the middle of a sea change in publishing. There’s no better time to be an author and the barriers and gatekeepers have been eliminated.

    My only wish is I had done this soon and after people read your book, they’re going to feel the same way.

    Viva la revolution!

    p.s. Awesome Looney Tunes reference on your copyright page :)

  11. Congratulations, wishing you thousands upon thousands of sales.

  12. Thank you for all the messages of support everyone. The amount of tweeting, facebook posts, blog posts etc. is phenomenal. I think we took over a little corner of the internet today.

  13. It’s cued on my Kindle. Been looking forward to reading it.

  14. Woohoo! Congratulations, David! Bought the Smashwords edition, so will keep an eye out for any formatting issues that can come up now and then. It’s been great reading so far! Well done:)

  15. Congrats, David, and good luck! I’m really glad you talk about EDITING so early in the book because that’s one of the biggest problems I’ve had with 80% of the self-published eBooks I’ve read… they desperately needed a good editor! There are a lot of very talented writers out there who come across looking very amateurish because they were in such a hurry to start selling books and just skipped the editor phase!

  16. Does Nuits-Saints-Georges come in a box? If not, anything will do…

  17. Good stuff and good luck with it – I’ve put a link up on my blog, and used it as a jumping off point for my own somewhat scattershot thoughts on the self-publising process:

    http://jameseverington.blogspot.com/2011/07/psychology-of-self-publishing.html

    Now let me get you another drink. You deserve one.

  18. Werner says:

    Congrats David!. I gave my review on the advanced copy and then bought my Kindle version. When I get home tonight, I’m writing a blog post about it – then it’s off to the Kindle Boards!

    • Werner says:

      You provide a great service and impart a lot of useful information. Your passion is evident. We want to see you succeed Big Time. I’m on my way to get a good Argentinian Malbec to toast you!

  19. I’m blogging about it for tomorrow!

  20. Got it, David! Way to go!

  21. Just finished it, and I’ll have to say I am very impressed. Very well written with tons of solid advice. Unlike some of the other how-to books on this subject, yours has some very tangible advice points, and is tied together very coherently and logically. Well worth buying!

  22. C.J. Archer says:

    I read it in one go and I have to say you did a great job, Dave. It’s got tons of excellent advice, even for those of us who’ve been doing this awhile.

  23. Thank you to everybody for the phenomenal amount of help. You made a big noise today, and it worked. I’m going to bed now with a huge, tired smile on my face. #1910 in the Kindle Store. #1 Writing Book. Wow.

  24. Adam Geen says:

    Thank you for the wonderful read, David! Tweeted about as well. Loads of information in here.

  25. kenn says:

    Thank you for this amazing resource, David. I blogged and Facebook’ed about it today. I will continue to support this effort and I can’t wait to have some time to read your fiction.

  26. E Hunter says:

    Hey, linked to your book in a post today! I had been planning one on why I am choosing independent publishing, so the timing was perfect. Good luck!

  27. prue batten says:

    Congrats and well done, David. It’s a professional, informative read. I said on Facebook it’s a bit like Moses coming down from the mountain with the Ten Commandments. Thank you.

  28. Pingback: Melissa Douthit's Blog » News

  29. Pingback: Let’s Get Digital Release « Mandi Kang

  30. virginiallorca says:

    I saw your post on Jessica Faust’s blog today. I am loving this. Do you know if she reads you?

    For some reason, I hear the faintest sound of clashing swords in the background.

  31. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Scary-Funny Interview with R.L. Stine « Amy Shojai's Blog

Release Your Word-Minions!

